Google Ads

Google Ads

Bible Wheel Book

Google Ads

+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

The Righteousness and Glory of God?

I am studying John Piper's book The Justification of God which is the premier Reformed (Calvinist) exegesis of Romans 9, and he comes to the conclusion that the phrase "righteousness of God" denotes "God's unswerving commitment to preserve the honor of his name and display his glory." He bases this on the fact that Paul quoted Exo 33:19 as an answer to the question "Is there unrighteousness in God?"

Exodus 33:19 And he said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee, and I will proclaim the name of the LORD before thee; and will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy.
    Piper's conclusion followed from the fact that 1) Exo 33:19 was God's response to Moses request to show him his "glory" and 2) Paul used this as an answer to the question "Is there unrighteousness in God."

So now I have two questions. First, Piper defined God's righteousness in terms of God's Glory. So to really understand his definition, I need to know what the Bible means by "God's glory."

Second, I am wondering how folks here would define "God's righteousness."

Thanks in advance for your comments!

Richard
    • Skepticism is the antiseptic of the mind.
    • Remember why we debate. We have nothing to lose but the errors we hold. Who but a stubborn fool would hold to errors once they have been exposed?

Check out my blog site

Quote Originally Posted by RAM View Post
    Second, I am wondering how folks here would define "God's righteousness."

Thanks in advance for your comments! Richard
    In short, - to this question - I would say "And the Word was made flesh and dwelt among us". It would be hard to put it into 'words' but it is plain in the Person of Jesus Christ.
    Jeremiah 20:9 " But His word was in my heart like a burning fire Shut up in my bones; I was weary of holding it back, And I could not.